Health Series · Life Coaching

How to Get Your Appetite Under Control

Sometimes our flesh is just like a three-year-old throwing a fit in the middle of A family get together or while grocery shopping. It doesn’t consider the outcome of its behavior, and it doesn’t care why the answer is what it is. It only cares about indulging itself in the moment.As a teenager, I remember hearing messages about the flesh warring against the spirit, but I had no idea what he meant. As I have walked farther with God and grown closer to Him, I now see the ways in which my flesh bosses me around. However, my walk with God has also taught me that, through Him, I am able to overcome the tantrums of the flesh, and so are you.

The Spirit of God enables us to practice self-control whenever our flesh is screaming for a chocolate chip cookie. Trust me this battle has taken so much time in my life. Let’s be honest, most of us have had plenty of cookies won by our inconsolable flesh, but when we listen to that still, small voice, we have power—power and the ability to say yes to who we really want to be and to make the decisions we really want to make. 
Many times through the years I’ve looked for a loud answer, some kinda of punch in the face here is the way. Yet in reality it is in the still small moments that I have gained strength for the victories. 

But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the Spirit are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other, to keep you from doing the things you want to do. Galatians 5:16-17 esv

When we walk with God and pursue things of Him, we feed our spirit and it gets stronger. But, when we walk in the flesh, our spirit is malnourished and weak. Let me say my flesh continually has made the same disappointing decisions and leaving me feeling powerless. It’s driven by emotions, and it doesn’t care what we really want because it wants what it wants and it wants it now.

The enemy of walking in the spirit is instant gratification; it’s that one cheesy nacho that leads to a whole plate more. Keep in mind, you’re not a failure because of what you eat—enjoy a treat every now and then; but, just as we need balance when eating healthfully, we need to balance our moments of indulgence as well. One way we might do so is by implementing our focus on God and free of the tendency to overeat.

One thought on “How to Get Your Appetite Under Control

Leave a Reply

