Uncategorized

Unglued Labels

When we refuse to accept our labels from the past, we open our hearts to be chiseled by the greatest artist of all. But it’s easier said than done, right? I could not say it better so here’s the excerpt that spoke the loudest out of chapter 3 from the book Unglued by Lysa Terkeurst.
“O God, chisel me. I don’t want to be locked in my hard places forever. I want to be all that You have in mind for me to be” (p.36).
“It is beautiful when the Master chisels. God doesn’t allow the unglued moments of our lives to happen so we will label ourselves and stay stuck. He allows the unglued moments to make us aware of the chiseling that needs to be done. So instead of condemning myself with statements like, I am mess, I could say, Let God chisel. Let Him work on my hard places so I can leave the dark places of being stuck and come into the light of who He designed me to be. God is calling us out – out of darkness, out from those places we thought would never get better, out of being stuck.”
I am reminded of how God wants to renew, rebuild and restore our lives. Phillippians 1:6 “For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.”
 
Thoughts and questions to ponder and discuss with each other:
1. What labels have imprisoned you in the past or currently impression you?
2. How did you or how can you break free from those labels?

Leave a Reply

